Love Thyself: Replacing Lies with Truth

To have a healthy identity, you need to say goodbye to lies and unhealthy thinking, and replace them with truth.

dW7Xg.gif
Source

This is way easier said than done.  Getting rid of lies entails recognizing when an untrue and disparaging thought enters your head and calling it out.  However, it can be so challenging to do this.

For me what was most helpful was journaling how I felt, and then going back through what I had written to prayerfully compare my thoughts and feelings to scripture and talk to other people about them.  Then I could better see what thoughts were going on in my head and whether or not they were true.  Additionally, talking to other people, even when I felt crazy and like I was wasting their time (both not true), was so helpful.  I had the same conversations with my parents half a dozen times, and they gave me the same answers every time.  But after a while, the truth of what they said began to stick.

Replacing a bad habit with a good habit is much better than just eliminating a bad habit.

You need truth to imbue your heart and your mind.

John 8:31b-32 says,“If you abide in my word, you are truly my disciples, 32 and you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.”

Philippians 4:8 says, “Whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things.”

Get in the word of God.  Abide in scripture, and read it in-depth.  The word of God is not just a buffet to pick out random bits and pieces whenever you fell like it.  No, the word of God is “living and active, sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing to the division of soul and of spirit, of joints and of marrow, and discerning the thoughts and intentions of the heart.” (Hebrews 4:12)

This is a process, and I do not want to oversimplify how hard this process can be.  Sometimes you will feel like you have to confront and replace lies every single second of the day.  But, there is hope!  In the end, the freedom you will feel will be so worth it.  Having monitor your thoughts every second will turn to every minute, and then to every hour, and then to a couple times a day.  Before you know it, your mind will have a renewed pattern of thinking.

Looking back to two years ago, never in a million years did I think I would live in the freedom, peace, joy, and love that I live in today.  This is all by the grace of God.  Instead of a fearful timid girl, I am a bold woman of God.  Instead of a weak person tossed about by emotions, I am a prayer warrior, and someone who fights for those who cannot fight for themselves.  I have a voice that I had refused to use because of fear.  I am confident because I have received the unconditional love of Christ, who pursued me and was beside me for my entire life.

More than anything, I want this for every. single. person.

Here are some truths I want you to meditate on:

Philippians 4:6-7: “Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

Psalm 51:10: “Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right spirit within me.”

Colossians 3:5: “Put to death therefore what is earthly in you: sexual immorality, impurity, passion, evil desire, and covetousness, which is idolatry.”

Proverbs 3:5-6 : “Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths.”

1 John 3:20: “For whenever our heart condemns us, God is greater than our heart, and he knows everything.”

John 10:10: “The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have life and have it abundantly.”

2 Thessalonions 3:3 : “But the Lord is faithful. He will establish you and guard you against the evil one.”

Jeremiah 29:13: “You will seek me and find me, when you seek me with all your heart.”

highly recommend utilizing the resources I’ve included down below for further reading.  Whether or not you suffer from debilitating anxiety, depression, addiction, or whatever, all of us need to renew our minds.  Taking Equipping Ministries International’s “Renewing the Mind” course was so helpful, and I have linked their website below.  One blog post cannot even begin to do this topic justice, and I have learned so much from these resources.

Further Reading

1 thought on “Love Thyself: Replacing Lies with Truth”

Leave a Reply

